“Oh shit” Saturday.

I feel like almost every Saturday morning I have an epiphany.  Whether  I realize something about myself or someone else – I feel as if I normally start my day with some kind of realization that comes out of no where.  I call it my “Oh shit” moment.  My brain says, “Oh shit,” followed by my body deciding to stand completely still for at least 30 seconds while I process my new found genius.

Once I’ve processed, I go about my day – albeit more intelligent from my own self discovering…well – genius – like I said.  This morning was no different.  I decided to throw some clothes in the wash.  I let the lid slam on the washing machine and continued my morning.  (Seriously though, does anyone actually gently close that lid?)

I recently had done some organizing in my basement/laundry room and noticed some papers had scattered themselves on the floor.  Being the semi-self-proclaimed OCD person that I am, I had to pick it up, organize, put away, etc.  One of the papers was from a job I had a few years back and decided to keep as a reminder.

562653_416609995023191_100000225812511_1798824_536533721_n

Let’s just say that being tied to a cubicle by a phone cord can start to…mess with a person.  The amount of people I had to converse with on a daily basis wasn’t the issue – it was the people I had to talk to that were.

Finding the piece of paper really gave me a jolt.  Enter the “Oh shit” moment I had this morning.  (If you’re familiar with Marilene Isaacs Kauffman then you’ve been reading about the NOW.  The shedding of all illusions and seeing what’s actually going down in the world.)

Lately I’ve had the displeasure of encountering several rude individuals.  (If you’re from the Pittsburgh area you’d say they were ignorant – which is in fact – the informal definition of rude – so you’re not totally wrong just partially – just sayin.)  It dawned on me during today’s moment in finding that piece of paper that someone else’s problems are just that  – their problems.  It was a hard realization to accept – that maybe I’m seeing these people for who they really are.  The realization that all is not what it seems.  Knowing and having to accept that some people are just in fact, rude; that some people aren’t concerned about being good to others and helping when someone is in need; that it’s OKAY that there are people like that!  None of that is an easy thing to learn let alone execute in your life but at least we try, right?

So really that’s it.  Just you’re basic, some people suck and that’s OKAY kind of realization.   Alexis, out.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

